The MQA bursary scheme was established to increase the number of students taking careers in the mining and minerals sector. Today the bursary scheme continues to assist students by offering them the opportunity to study these careers at Higher Education Institutions (HEI) and Technical Vocational Education and Training (TVET) Colleges. The MQA bursary is available to students that have enrolled with universities, Technical Vocational Education and Training (TVET) colleges, and universities of technology. The bursary scheme covers full tuition and registration fees; residence fees or out of residence living costs; books; stationery; and toolkit allowance per bursar per semester.

Who is eligible?

The Bursary is available to deserving South African Citizens as follows:

  • Unemployed individuals:
    Historically Disadvantaged Individuals with a strong academic record accompanied by a need for financial assistance, with special consideration given to female applicants, applicants living in rural communities and applicants who have applied to study at their local tertiary institutions, The awards are also based on the student’s academic performance. The bursary re-awarded for every year in which the student remains enrolled. However it is re-assessed by the MQA annually.
  • Employed individuals:
    HDI’s individuals who are already employed within the Mining and Minerals Sector who would like to pursue studies for a qualification relevant to the mining related fields. Payment is for full tuition fees and books allowances is made per semester for employed bursars.

    For both the unemployed and employed applicants, bursary supports the following core mining disciplines:The MQA bursary scheme only funds the following qualifications at universities and universities of technology:
  • Metallurgical Engineering
  • Analytical Chemistry
  • Jewellery Design Manufacturing
  • Electro Mechanical Engineering
  • Geology
  • Industrial Engineering
  • Mining Engineering
  • Occupational Health and Safety
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Occupational Hygiene
  • Mine Surveying
  • Occupational Medicine
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Operations Managements
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Quality Managements
  • Environmental Health and Management

The bursary is available for the following education levels associated with the above disciplines, namely: Undergraduate Degree, B Tech, Honours Degree, Master’s Degree and Doctoral Degree.

2. The MQA bursary scheme only funds the following qualifications at TVET colleges:

  • Boilermaker
  • Fitting (incl: Machinery)
  • Motor Mechanic (Diesel)
  • Instrumentation Mechanic
  • Electrician
  • Millwright
  • Fitter and Turner
  • Rigger Ropesman
    The MQA may annually consider 20% of the bursary allocation to deserving unemployed and employed bursary applicants to study qualification outside of the list of qualification listed above.

Application Process:
The application window is annually opened between August/September. Applicants must download the prescribed applications form from the MQA website and e-mail the completed application form and prescribed supporting documents to the designed e-mail address. Successful candidate will be advised of the outcome of the bursary application by end November of a particular year to enable them to register for the subsequent year.

The following MQA persons can be contacted for queries or assistance with applications for the specific institutions:

Mr Diiteleni Tshisevhe:

  • University of Limpopo
  • University of Venda
  • Sekhukhune TVET College
  • Vhembe TVET College
  • Mopani TVET College
  • Capricorn TVET College
  • Lephalale TVET College
  • Ekurhuleni West TVET College
  • Ekurhuleni East TVET College
  • South West Gauteng TVET College

Tel: 011 547

Ms Felicitus Lebetha:

  • Univesity of the Witwatersrand (Wits)
  • Nkangala TVET College

Tel: 011 547

Mr Tebogo Thankge:

  • University of the Western Cape
  • University of Cape Town
  • Stellenbosch University
  • University of Fort Hare
  • Cape Peninsula University of Technology
  • Nelson Mandela University
  • North West University
  • King Dalindyebo TVET College
  • Buffalo City TVET College

Tel: 011 547

Mr Joshua Chetty:

  • University of Johannesburg
  • Vuselela TVET College
  • Orbit TVET College
  • Northern Cape Rural TVET College
  • Central Johannesburg College

Tel: 011 547

Ms Moloko Phofa:

  • University of Pretoria
  • University of South Africa (UNISA)
  • Tshwane University of Technology (TUT)

Tel: 011 547

Mr Vutomi Chauke:

  • Durban University of Technology
  • Mangosuthu University of Technology
  • University of KwaZulu Natal
  • Majuba TVET College
  • Gert Sibande TVET College
  • University of the Free State
  • Motheo TVET College
  • Goldfields TVET College
  • Flavius Mareka TVET College
  • Central University of Technology
  • Vaal University of Technology
  • Sedibeng TVET College

Tel: 011 547