2020 Bursary Applications for Employees in the Mining and Minerals Sector: Second Window

The Mining Qualifications Authority (MQA) is a Sector Education and Training Authority (SETA) for the mining and minerals sector (MMS) in terms of the Skills Development Act No. 97 of 1998.

The MQA would like to invite all persons already employed within the sector who would like to pursue studies for a qualification relevant to the mining related fields to apply for a MQA bursary.

Applicants should be planning to or are currently studying towards a mining related diploma, degree or post-graduate qualification at a public university or university of technology.

The MQA bursary scheme will give preference to applicants who are planning to or are currently studying for a qualification which addresses the priority skills shortage needs identified within the sector.


The second application window for the 2020 intake will re-open from Sunday, 22 December 2019 and close on Friday, 31 January 2020.

PLEASE NOTE: This application window is only applicable to suitable applicants who are ALREADY EMPLOYED within the mining and mineral sector (MMS) and whose employers are MQA levy paying or levy exempted companies.

The following will serve as disqualifying criteria:

  1. Applicants studying or intending to study at private institutions;
  2. Applicants not employed in the MMS, as well as unemployed applicants;
  3. Applicants from non-levy paying employers;
  4. Non South African citizens; and
  5. Applicants without a consent letter from their employer to participate in the bursary scheme.


A detailed set of selection criteria for successful applicants is set out in the Bursary Application Form.

NOTE: Applicants must ensure that they download and complete the correct application form. In the event that an incomplete application form is received and/or all supporting documents are not included, such an application will not be considered.

Completed applications can be submitted by e-mail to bursaries@mqa.org.za  

If you have not received further correspondence from the MQA by 15 February 2020, then please consider your application as being unsuccessful. Late applications will not be considered.

Applications can also be requested from, and submitted to, the following MQA offices:

  • Gauteng: 7 Anerley Road, Parktown, 2193, (physical address); Private Bag X118, Marshalltown, 2107 (postal address), Tel: 011 547 2600
  • Eastern Cape: King Sabatha Dalindyebo TVET College, R61 Queenstown Road, Cicira Village, Mthatha, Tel: 047 505 1047
  • Free State: Goldfields TVET College, 14107 Ndaki Road, Tosa Campus, Thabong, Tel: 087 095 0266
  • Limpopo: Sekhukhune TVET College, CN Phathudi Campus, Stand No. 2659, Praktiseer, Tel: 087 095 0267
  • Mpumalanga: Nkangala TVET College, Mpondozamkomo Campus, 1 Moses Kotane Drive, Ferrobank,  Tel: 013 696 8120 / 2121
  • North West: Old Shopping Complex , 53 Karee Street, Mooinooi, Tel: 014 555 8860
  • Northern Cape: Northern Cape Rural TVET College, Kathu Campus, Hans Coetzee Drive, Kathu, Tel: 053 723 0100
Friday, December 20, 2019